Illinois electric cooperatives will award 15 scholarships in 2023 to financially assist deserving students in the electric cooperative family. The 15 scholarships, $2,000 each, will be awarded through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Nine scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors whose parent(s) are an Illinois electric co-op member. A 10th scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the child of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director. Four additional scholarships are reserved for high school seniors enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college whose parent(s) are an Illinois electric cooperative member, employee or director.

The 15th scholarship, the LaVern and Nola McEntire Memorial Lineworker’s Scholarship, will help pay for costs to attend lineworker school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill. Children of co-op members, relatives of co-op employees or directors, and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible for this scholarship.

“We hope to assist electric cooperative youth while honoring past rural electric leaders with these scholarships,” says EnerStar’s Angela Griffin. “EnerStar and the other Illinois electric cooperatives are always seeking ways to make a difference in our communities. One of the best ways we can do that is by investing in our youth through programs like this one.”

For more information regarding the scholarships, contact Griffin at 800-635-4145, ext. 103 or Information has also been shared with area high school guidance counselors.

Deadline for the IEC Memorial Scholarship has passed. Please check back next year.

McEntire Memorial LIneworker's Scholarship - Deadline for receipt of completed applications and submissions is April 30, 2023