Skip to main navigation.

Youth Tour

Youth to Washington Tour

For over 60 years, the electric cooperatives of Illinois have given tomorrow’s leaders the opportunity to learn from today’s public officials. EnerStar is on the hunt to for two outstanding students to represent our cooperative at the Youth Day in Springfield and the week-long, all-expense paid Youth Tour to Washington! The events are coordinated by the Association of Illinois Cooperatives (AIEC) and attended by students throughout Illinois.

Youth Day in Springfield - March 29, 2022

Each year, nearly 300 outstanding students get an up close and first-hand look at democracy in action when they meet their elected representatives during Illinois Electric Cooperatives Youth Day. Participants will tour the Capitol, visit the Abraham Lincoln Museum and meet students from across Illinois. 

Youth to Washington - June 17 to 24, 2022

The "Youth to Washington" gives two lucky students the chance to spend a week in our nation's capitol visiting historic sites, touring some of our most inspiring memorials, and browsing the campus of our nation's capital. They will also visit the Supreme Court and much more!

During Youth Tour, representatives have the chance to be selected to represent your state on the NRECA Youth Leadership Council (YLC). One student from each state is selected and they will come back to Washington, D.C., in July for a leadership workshop which will focus on the electric cooperative industry.

Selection Process

  • Two winners will be selected to represent EnerStar.
  • Candidates should be high school freshmen, sophomores, or juniors in high school during the 2021-2022 school year. 
  • Candidates must reside in the EnerStar service territory and receive their electricity from EnerStar.The account does not need to be in the parent's name but the student must reside in the home served by EnerStar.

The download the application and submit to EnerStar via mail or email. Deadline is February 28, 2022.

Need Further Information? If you have any questions, please contact EnerStar’s Kayla Foos at 800-635-4145.

Past Youth to Washington Winners

2019 Jerad Lawson & Dylan Herrington  
2018 Bethanny Lawson & Chase Mayne  
2017 Shelbie Kile & Phillip Gorrell  
2016 Andi Powers & Sydney Martin  
2015 Leanna Keeney, Mackenzie Martin, & Vanessa Zimmerman  
2014 Ruthann Gorrell, Sarah Powers, & Zack Zimmerman  
2013 Emily Crews & Ali Brandenburg  
2012 Haley Bowyer & Jessica Zellers  
2011 Diane Gorrell & Amanda Ingram  
2010 Mary McKee & Makayla Wycoff  
2009 William (Bill) Rhoads & Denise Wallace  
2008 Landen Crews & Jacob Richardson  
2007 Nathan Crews & Kate Smith  
2006 Kyle Swalls & Adam Cash  
2005 John Michael Knowles & Madden Wright  
2004 Kacee Reynolds & Christina Patchett  
2003 Lauren Knowles & Melissa Wineinger  
2002 Shawna Goekler & Brock Williams  
2001 Margaret Yargus & Lewis Theil  
2000 Kelly Strohm & Matthew Patchett  
1999 Heather Hasten & Kristian Peterson  
1998 Jennifer Williams & Chris Williams  
1997 Sarah Propst & Robin Pantle  
1996 Eliza Williams & Matthew Boland  
1995 Holly Hasten & Jenny Litton  
1994 Greg Robinson & Luke Williams  
1993 Amanda Medsker & Stacia Pantle  
1992 Heather Miller  
1990 Jennifer Hayes & Lisa Bergdolt  
1989 Dawn McMyne & Todd Bergdolt  
Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo