Skip to main navigation.

Marshall HS student earns electric cooperative scholarship

As an Illinois electric cooperative, Enerstar Electric Cooperative participates along with 23 other Illinois electric cooperatives in the Thomas H. Moore IEC Memorial Scholarship Fund to assist deserving students in the “electric cooperative family.” Besides benefiting cooperative students, this scholarship fund provides a means for honoring deceased cooperative family through memorial gifts.

EnerStar is pleased to announce that Marshall High School student Olivia Seaman has been selected as one of 12 winners in the Illinois Electric Cooperative’s Memorial Scholarships. This one-time award for high school students attending a 4-year community college has a value of $2,000. Olivia will attend Millikan University in the fall.

Candidates were judged on grade-point average, college entrance exam scores, work and volunteer experience, school and civic activities, and an essay demonstrating their knowledge of electric cooperatives. It was a rigorous and thorough vetting process, and the winners are well-deserving.

EnerStar’s Angela Griffin stated that scholarship applications for next year’s award will be available in November. Application deadline is Dec. 31, 2020

Olivia and her family can be very proud of her efforts, as is Enerstar, in winning this scholarship. Congratulations!

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo